• Home
  • News
  • Science is a collaborative endeavour

Science is a collaborative endeavour

In January 2019, the arrival of Director Iain Mattaj marked the beginning of the Human Technopole Foundation. Since then, we have made great progress, structuring our administrative offices, refurbishing existing buildings and creating new spaces for our first experimental laboratories.  

The global pandemic which hit the world in 2020 caused unimaginable difficulties and loss to people all over the world, forcing us all to change our habits and work at a distance. Despite these challenges, Human Technopole managed to continue its growth and development, particularly in terms of recruiting key scientific and leadership figures.   

This would never have been possible without the voluntary support and assistance of dozens of international scientists from institutes and universities all over the world who took part in our independent recruitment panels to help us identify suitable candidates on the basis of merit and scientific excellence. To us this proves once again that science knows no borders and is a highly cooperative and collaborative endeavour, bringing together people of all backgrounds and nationalities.   

We wish to thank all those who have supported us until now. We hope you will continue to follow our journey in the years to come.  

Marco Simoni & Iain Mattaj

List of international recruitment panel members until December 2020

Stylianos AntonakarisUniversity of Geneva Medical School (CH) 

Silvia ArberUniversity of Basel (CH) 

Martin BeckEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Stefano BencettiItalian Institute of Technology (IT) 

Vladimir BenesEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Ewan BirneyEuropean Bioinformatics Institute (UK) 

Cedric BoeckxICREA and Universitat de Barcelona (ES) 

Michael BoutrosGerman Cancer Research Center – DKFZ (DE) 

Silvia CappelloMax Planck Institute of Psychiatry (DE) 

Andrea CavalliItalian Institute of Technology (IT) 

Elena ContiMax Planck Institute of Biochemistry (DE) 

Maria Pia CosmaCenter for Genomic Regulation (ES) 

Valentina Di FrancescoNational Institutes of Health (USA) 

Stefano GustincichItalian Institute of Technology (IT) 

Wim HagenEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Wolfgang HuberEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Olli KallioniemiScience for Life Laboratory (SE) 

Tuuli LappalainenNew York Genome Centre (US) 

Cecilia LindgrenBig Data Institute (BDI) and University of Oxford (UK) 

Gloria Lligadas PenarrubiaCentre for Genomic Regulation (ES) 

Filippo ManciaColombia University (USA) 

Gianmarco Montanari, Italian Institute of Technology (IT)

Andrea MusacchioMax Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology (DE) 

Silvia Kirsten NicolisUniversity of Milan Bicocca (IT) 

Pierluigi NicoteraGerman Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DE) 

Mats NilssonStockholm University (SE) 

Kyung-Min NohEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Gaia Novarino, IST Austria (AT) 

Walter RicciardiUniversità Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (IT) 

Samuli Olli RipattiUniversity of Helsinki (FI) 

Alicia OshlackPeter MacCallum Centre (AUS) 

Lori PassmoreMRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge (UK) 

Jürgen PlitzkoMax-Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried (DE) 

Lucy RaymondCambridge Institute for Medical Research (UK) 

Lea RossiStudio Toffoletto De Luca Tamajo (IT) 

Serena SannaCNR, IRGB (IT) 

Joachim SchultzeUniversity of Bonn, DZNE (DE) 

Oliver StegleGerman Cancer Research Center – DKFZ (DE) 

Brenda StrideEuropean Molecular Biology Laboratory (DE) 

Sarah TeichmannWellcome Sanger Institute (UK) 

Fabian TheisHMGU Munich (DE) 

Flora VaccarinoYale School of Medicine (US) 

Alfonso ValenciaBarcelona Supercomputing Center (ES) 

Patrik VerstrekenVIB-KU Leuven Center for Brain & Disease Research (BE) 

Christine WellsUniversity of Melbourne (AUS) 


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Email

You could also like: